+234 9093206556 info@36destinations.com

Yobe state

Yobe State is a Nigerian state, located in the northeastern region of the country with 17 local government areas, Yobe state was carved out of the old Borno State in 1991. The capital of Yobe State is Damaturu; its most populated city is Potiskum. The town of Damaturu is on the A3 highway and in 2010 had an estimated population of 44,268. Damaturu is the headquarters of the Damaturu Emirate, at one time part of the Ngazaragamo emirate based in Gaidam. Damaturu came into existence as a colony when it was carved out of the Alagarno district by the British. It resulted in the conquest of the Bornu Empire in 1902 by colonial forces under the command of Colonel Thomas Morland. Yobe State was created because the old Borno State was one of Nigeria’s largest states in terms of land area and was therefore considered to be too large for easy administration and meaningful development. Ethnic rivalries within the old Borno State also contributed to the decision. Yobe state is a state named after the Komadugu Yobe (Waube or Ouobe) or River Yobe (or River of Yo), and nicknamed as “Pride of the Sahel”.
The The major ethnic groups living in Yobe State are the Kanuri and Karai-Karai, while other major ethnic communities include Bolewa, Ngizim, Bade, Hausa, Ngamo, Shuwa, Bura, Marghi, Fulani and Manga. Yobe State is an agricultural state, it also has rich minerals deposits, including gypsum, and kaolin in Fune Local Government and very rich agricultural resources as well. The state’s agricultural produce include gum Arabic, groundnuts, beans and cotton. Yobe state has one of the largest cattle markets in West Africa, located in Potiskum.